Jenna Surratt [guest post]

Jenna Surratt is such a multi-faceted woman, I hardly know where to start with her introduction. Not only is she one of my partners in ministry to women at Seacoast, but is Mother of 4 (6 and under), wife to Pastor Jason Surratt, Soccer Coach, creator of Truth Cards and friend extraordinaire.  Jenna is one of those rare women who seems always tuned in to what God is doing in the spiritual realm, and ready to act on it in the physical.


In Sisterhood, she is Director of Communities which includes Missional Moms, Totally Fit, nMotion, Holy Yoga and Cross+Country:  discipling 6-8 leaders who then lead hundreds of women every day. 


When I saw her picture of this incident on Instagram, I knew it was the perfect #sisterschoosejoy post, but didn’t dare ask her to write it.  In true Jenna fashion, she typed it up that day and emailed saying “feel free to use this if it fits”.  
I love her vulnerable processing of the hard and messy.  I know you will too…
We were jolted awake to a loud CRASH at 3:15 a.m. I knew instantly the tree had fallen, but it still took my breath away as I peered over the balcony at the tiny disaster below.
Right away, The Lord whispered what I’ve been practicing and putting into my head all month long – Sisters Choose Joy.
It took us a good part of three hours to resurrect the tree and clean up the mess of pine needles, shattered glass, glitter and memories off the floor. It was not fun, but could have definitely been worse. I kept thinking about how crazy blessed we are to even have a tree, to have one another, to have gifts to give to people we love. But most of all, to have a Savior who loves us so much.
At one point, my face was smashed against the pine scented needles and I opened my eyes to see a foam star shaped ornament one of our daughters made for us last year (you know, one of the ones that doesn’t always make it to the tree a second time around). I almost laughed when I read the verse across the bottom. “When they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceeding great joy.” (Matthew 2:10) It was as if the Lord was saying, look for the Star. Sometimes we have to search for the joy amidst the pain.
All Advent season, the Lord has been speaking to me about the reality that joy is such a choice. Just like so many other blessings in life. We know that we don’t always feel love, we choose it. We have to let the peace of Christ rule in our hearts. We have the option to put our hope in Christ. It all lies in a matter of where we place our focus.
Sisters CHOOSE joy!
Sometimes the joy comes so naturally, but, more often than not, it is a choice. No matter what is going on with your life this holiday season, God wants you to walk in the blessings for which He came to this earth. My prayer is that you would allow Him to fill you with the hope, love, peace and joy that only He can provide.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment